Grad Degrees: To Do or Not to Do?

Last night, a group of my PRSA Tulsa colleagues and I made the short trek to Stillwater to participate in a panel discussion for the OSU PRSSA chapter. It was an educational experience for me. The turnout was fantastic and the group asked some smart, insightful questions. But, as with any opportunity to speak with the next generation of PR professionals, it made me start thinking.

The question came up about whether a masters’ degree is needed in the business world, and, if so, which degree program is the best. I’m just one person with an opinion but here are my thoughts. As an MBA student, I highly recommend pursuing an advanced degree. However, which path you choose depends entirely on your career goals.

Initially I began a masters’ program in Mass Communication because I believed that was the right path for me as a PR professional. After several semesters of studying communication theories and integrated marketing strategies, I realized that my career goals actually made more sense for an MBA. With an undergrad degree in Journalism, the lack of finance and business classes left me lacking in my ability to communicate with CEOs and other senior management colleagues.

I challenge anyone considering a masters’ program to seriously think about where you want your career to be five, 10 years down the road. Do you see yourself teaching communication classes at a local university? Or do you see yourself as VP at a PR firm or corporation? That plays a big part in which degree program makes the most sense in my opinion.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a comment