Customer Service 101

customer-serviceSorry if I appear snarky in this post. I’m a bit irritated and need to vent my frustrations.

Customer service is a critical component to any good marketing program. It’s not just a department elsewhere in the company where hourly employees answer the phone and respond to complaints or questions all day. Customer service is an attitude that must become a mainstay in a company’s culture.

This is so basic, I’m at a loss as to why people don’t understand what good customer service takes. It’s simple. Return phone calls. If you don’t know the answer, find out and return the call. Answer emails. It doesn’t have to be within seconds of the message being sent, but it certainly should be within 24 hours. The return message can be as easy as “Thanks for your email. Traveling right now and will get with you on Friday.” Then use the handy flag feature in Outlook to set a reminder to do just that on Friday.

It’s not rocket science.

OK, I’m done. What do you think about customer service.

5 Comments

  1. I completely agree and have ranted this a time or two (or 500), but I actually decided that it is more like rocket science than we think.

    Rocket science takes a certain capacity that not everyone has; so does customer service. Some people are just not wired to be nice, helpful, patient, etc. And some people just cannot grasp the concept of “if you say you’re going to do it, do it.”

    Are these people too self absorbed to care about others? Too forgetful and scatter brained to follow up? I don’t know what it is, but it is the source of most of my rants.

    Reply

    1. Thanks for the comment, Jules. I appreciate your perspective. The rocket science analogy you present makes complete sense to me. Some people just don’t get what good services is and that’s a major problem for companies around the world. Too many also don’t realize that there should not be a distinction between how you treat internal and external customers. A customer is a customer and deserves respect and a polite response.

      Reply

  2. If a company doesn’t have good communication, I take my business elsewhere. I don’t have time to waste on companies that have poor customer service. There are plenty of fish in the sea, I will go to a company that cares about keeping me as a customer. If you don’t have good customer service, don’t bother staying open.

    Reply

    1. Laura, I too use customer service as a pointer for whether or not I continue doing business with a company. However, the challenge lies with poor internal customer service. Sometimes you cannot avoid dealing with individuals or departments who don’t seem to understand what it takes for an organization to communicate well or provide the right service levels to remain in business … even though 99% of the company is trying.

      Reply

  3. For me, a good customer service is seeing a companys’ willingness to go the extra mile to ensure that a product i bought gives me value for my money and satisfaction.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

