Remembering September 11

remember-9-11Eight years ago today, I remember hearing about a plane crashing into the World Trade Center. Initial reports called it a small plane and believed it was an accident. The world soon found out that it was not an accident. Indeed, a group of terrorists had coordinated an attack on the United States. Only twice before in my lifetime can I remember sitting in front of the TV transfixed by what I saw — the day in 1986 when the space shuttle Challenger exploded and April 19, 1995 when the federal building in Oklahoma City was bombed. These are the events in my life that mark significant changes for me. While I spend a bit more time on these days remembering the lives lost through terrible tragedies and acts of hatred, I never forget the pain and suffering we all felt. It doesn’t matter what your political beliefs are or whether you agree with the country’s response to the attacks, I wish everyone would spend more time thinking about the people directly and indirectly impacted by these events and remember that we as a country must stick together. None of us want another 9/11. I pray today and every day for the families who lost loved ones on that horrific day.

Leave a Reply

